Your project on this site?: LABIOMISTA





The former mining site and run-down zoo in Zwartberg is finally getting a makeover with the artistic/tourism park LABIOMISTA. In cooperation with the city of Genk, artist Koen Vanmechelen, the driving force behind LABIOMISTA that literally means ‘mix of life’, wants to be a prime example of diversity. The eyecatcher on the site is undoubtedly the artist’s workshop, with a gigantic eagle’s cage as pièce de resistance.


Both the workshop and the remarkable reception building are creations of the Swiss architect Mario Botta, in cooperation with the Genk firm of architects Buro B. The restored director’s residence and a panoramic pavilion in the middle of a park full of animals completes the site. With this tourist attraction the city of Genk wishes on the one hand to put itself on the international map, while also upgrading the Zwartberg district. As far as Koen Vanmechelen is concerned, this diverse district is the ideal medium for his work, that revolves around diversity, cross-pollination and society in the pure meaning of the word: living together.



Eagle’s nest
Koen Vanmechelen’s workshop was already completed last year and stands centre stage on the site. The design is by the reputable Swiss architect Mario Botta, who joined forces with Buro B for the third time. Visitors walk through an enormous glasshouse below the studio. In the middle stands a giant eagle’s nest that you can admire from outside as you walk towards the park. Neither visitors nor passers-by can fail to notice the striking LABIOMISTA reception building that flies like a flag above the roundabout. The Ark, as the building is called, is also a creation of Mario Botta and Buro B.

Director’s villa
The link between both buildings manifests itself in the black façade, a nod to the mining past. For the black façade brickwork the designers opted for use of the Ferro waalvorm 50 brickwork from Steenfabriek Nelissen. The beak-shaped reception building attracts the attention of the visitor to the former director’s villa, that has regained its grandeur of old after thorough restoration. The director’s villa is a prime example of a residence from 1925 in an eclectic/historic style with Maasland character traits. The building skin had already been thoroughly renovated a number of years ago. The interior is also now receiving the necessary attention. After restoration the large entrance area with monumental staircase will be open to visitors to the park.



Alpacas and camels
A winding path leads the visitors along animals such as camels, alpacas and obviously chickens who can roam freely in their spacious compartments. Half way through the park, visitors are given the opportunity to pause at LabOvoy, a pavilion for education and animal care. The pavilion is a horizontal landmark for the site and beyond. It forms a cornerstone so to speak, a hinge between the different animal compartments and its immediate surroundings.  The building comprises a workshop space measuring 55 m², a quarantine area, a care space for the veterinary surgeon and a block with sanitary facilities for visitors to the park. The roof of the pavilion also serves as a terrace that offers a panoramic view over the park.

Official opening
On Saturday 6 July, artist Koen Vanmechelen will open Labiomista to the general public. Everyone is welcome to discover the park and the new building with studio - designed by Mario Botta and Buro B.
Below you will find the necessary information:

Labiomista
Marcel Habetslaan 50
3600 Genk (Belgium)
Saturday 6 July 2019
10h - 17h

Projet à l'honneur: LABIOMISTA





Le parc touristique et artistique LABIOMISTA apporte une bouée d'air frais à l'ancien site minier et au zoo oublié de Zwartberg. En collaboration avec la ville de Genk, l'artiste Koen Vanmechelen est la force motrice derrière LABIOMISTA. Ce projet dont le nom signifie littéralement « mélange de vies » se veut un modèle de diversité. L'atelier de l'artiste et sa gigantesque cage d'aigles comme pièce maîtresse sont sans aucun doute l'élément du site qui retient l'attention.


L'atelier et le remarquable bâtiment d'accueil ont été conçus par l'architecte suisse Mario Botta en collaboration avec le bureau d'architecture Buro B situé à Genk. Au milieu d'un parc grouillant d’animaux, la maison restaurée du directeur ainsi qu’un pavillon panoramique complètent le tableau de ce site. Grâce à cette attraction touristique, la ville de Genk entend se faire connaître à l'échelle internationale tout en revalorisant le quartier de Zwartberg. Koen Vanmechelen estime que ce quartier diversifié constitue le terreau idéal pour son travail, qui s'articule autour de la diversité, la fertilisation croisée et le vivre ensemble au sens propre.



Cage d’aigles
L'atelier de Koen Vanmechelen a été achevé l'année dernière. Il occupe la place centrale du site. Le projet a été conçu par le célèbre architecte suisse Mario Botta, qui s'est associé au Buro B pour la troisième fois. Les visiteurs se promènent dans une immense serre sous le studio. Au centre s’élève une gigantesque cage d'aigles ; vous pouvez l’admirer de l'extérieur lorsque vous vous dirigez vers le parc. Ni les visiteurs ni les passants ne peuvent éviter le remarquable bâtiment d'accueil de LABIOMISTA, qui flotte comme un drapeau au-dessus de la rotonde. Appelé « the Ark » (l'Arche), ce bâtiment a également été conçu par Mario Botta et Buro B.

Villa du directeur
Le lien entre les deux bâtiments s'exprime dans le choix des briques de façade noires, un clin d'œil au passé minier. Pour ces briques de façade noires, les concepteurs ont opté pour la Ferro de format Room 50 de la briqueterie Nelissen. Le bâtiment d'accueil en forme de bec attire le regard du visiteur vers la villa de l'ancien directeur qui a retrouvé sa grandeur d'antan après une restauration complète. Avec son style éclectique et historique comportant des caractéristiques d’art mosan, la villa du directeur est un modèle d’habitation de 1925. L'enveloppe extérieure du bâtiment a été entièrement rénovée il y a quelques années. Actuellement, des travaux sont réalisés à l'intérieur. Après restauration, le hall d'entrée et son escalier monumental seront accessibles aux visiteurs du parc.



Alpagas et chameaux
Un sentier sinueux mène les visiteurs à des animaux tels que des chameaux, des alpagas et, bien sûr, des volatiles qui jouent librement dans leurs compartiments spacieux. À mi-parcours du parc, les visiteurs auront l'occasion de se détendre au LabOvo, un pavillon consacré à l'éducation et aux soins des animaux. Le pavillon sert de point de repère horizontal dans le site et au-delà. Ce bâtiment est en quelque sorte la pierre angulaire, la charnière entre les différents compartiments des animaux et leur environnement immédiat.  Le bâtiment comprend un atelier de 55 m², une zone de quarantaine, une zone de soins vétérinaires et un bloc sanitaire pour les visiteurs du parc. Le toit du pavillon sert également de terrasse offrant une vue panoramique sur le parc.

Ouverture officielle
Le samedi 6 juillet, l'artiste Koen Vanmechelen ouvrira Labiomista au grand public. Tout le monde est invité à découvrir le parc et le nouveau bâtiment avec atelier - conçu par Mario Botta et Buro B.
Vous trouverez ci-dessous les informations nécessaires :

Labiomista
Marcel Habetslaan 50
3600 Genk (Belgique)
Samedi 6 juli 2019
10h - 17h